Words From Our Guests:


August – September 2019 (Pacifica location)

If you’re anything like me, you’ve spent an enormous amount of time researching doctors. The past few years has been dedicated to weighing all my options ensuring the best possible outcome for bottom surgery. Of equal importance in the process was preparing for the recovery phase. Enter the magic of a month’s stay at Quest House. If I could describe my stay at Quest, I’d say it was like a “warm hug”. You know that feeling of calmness and safety that comforts you smack dab in the midst of all things chaotic. I flew in a few days earlier than my surgery, and being the kind soul that he is, Meiko offered me a chance to gain some wisdom by letting me stay at the house. I got a feel for my surroundings, and was able to ground myself before surgery. More importantly, I had the opportunity to meet several post-op folks in various places in their journeys. They imparted me with useful information which helped to ease my pre-op anxiety. I also got some valuable one-on-one time with the amazing Oliver Flowers who would be acting as my caretaker when I returned.

I’m someone who doesn’t have much in the way of family besides my wife and daughter, whom unfortunately could not accompany me to California. This surgery is tough enough, but even more difficult to navigate alone. At times I felt like an infant, not being able to even do the basics and having urine accidents. At times I had outright panic moments because I was unsure what was happening with this new body of mine. I would be remiss if I didn’t say that Oliver was a godsend to me. On paper, you’re paying for a caretaker. In reality, what you’re actually getting is a person who becomes a family member and attends to your every need. Oliver has seen several other folks through the phalloplasty process, so no complication was too great for him. I felt lucky to have both his knowledge and expertise on post-op visits where he advocated for me when I felt too drained to speak for myself. I was also grateful to have a house full of love and respect from my post-op community members for concerns, mindless entertainment, or general commiserating. Quest is a sanctuary and an experience that remains with you long after you leave. Meiko makes it so all can afford to stay. In my eyes however, the perspective you take away from Quest is priceless. I know it’s recovery, but a part of me can’t wait to return for my repairs, so I can stay at my home away from home – Quest! Thank you Oliver and Meiko.

~T. F.


August 2019 (Pacifica location)
I was able to visit Quest House prior to booking and I have to say that absolutely sold me on wanting to stay there for my stage 2 recovery.  The space itself is amazing and the location couldn’t be better — seeing the ocean from both ends of the house is beyond wonderful.  My wife and I were able to get into town a few days before surgery and that was really helpful to be able to get to know the other guests staying there before being in recovery mode.  I have to admit that when I found out Meiko wasn’t going to be the house host during our stay, I was bummed because we had made a really great connection with him prior and I was really looking forward to spending more time with him.  However, the house host that was there — the truly fabulous Oliver — quickly became a wonderful friend for both me and my wife.  He was a bright spot for me on a daily basis and I really appreciated his positive mood and attitude.  I felt pretty confident going into this surgery but it’s still surgery and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous beforehand.  Having time getting to know Oliver in the few days prior to surgery made all the difference and his thoughtful checking in with me seemed to always come at the perfect times.
I never would’ve thought I would want to stay in a recovery house mostly because I really like to have to my own space but I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything in the world.  I absolutely made some lifelong friends by being able to be vulnerable and present in that house with people that have become my friends.  Not only did we share this recovery journey together and have this particular surgery in common but we were able to let our guards down in a safe space created and cared for by some of the most wonderful humans I’ve ever met.  If you’re reading this and wondering if you should book your stay at Quest House, do it.  I can just about guarantee you will be better for having done so.
~ S.M.

July 2019 (Pacifica location)

Quest House was my recovery space for my stage one surgery and it made all the difference for my comfort and peace of mind. The house was beautiful and very intentionally designed for people recovering from surgery. It has lots of supplies, adaptive equipment, comfy furniture, and a fun atmosphere. However, what made Quest House so special was the emotional environment. Everyone was incredibly supportive of each other and we were like family. Oliver was my host while I was there and he is an ANGEL. He was so patient, kind, understanding, and fun. He either knew the answers or where to find the answers for all of my post-op questions and checked up on me frequently. He also went above and beyond to make me and the others feel supported in our various stages of recovery. I cannot recommend him and Quest House highly enough! I’m definitely coming back for my stage two!

~ T.M.


May – June 2019 (Pacifica location)

Staying at Quest House while recovering from bottom surgery is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I made the reservations hoping for a safe space to recover in peace. What I found was far better. Meiko is an absolute gem. He fosters such a sense of community that by the time I left, I felt I was leaving dear friends rather than recent acquaintances. He is also an invaluable source of knowledge and experience on all the strange and terrifying things that come with recovery. Without him, I would have been far more anxious about how my body was healing. He is warm, caring, calming and beyond generous. I cannot recommend Quest House highly enough. 10000/10

~ G


May – June 2019 (Pacifica location)

I have been living alone for the last 12 years, so I wasn’t too sure how it would feel for me to be in a community setting. I was pleasantly surprised at how at ease I felt. There was plenty of open space which I needed as a stage 1 ALT guy, and everyone was kind, considerate, and fun.

When complications arose, Meiko was right there; helping me problem solve, call the surgeons when needed and finding space for me when it was clear that I suddenly needed to have two more reparative surgeries. He is calming, knowledgeable, and experienced.  Meiko has earned my trust and respect.

It is easy for me to give this whole experience a “five star” rating even with the hardships I’ve endured.

~C.A.R.


October – November 2018  // August 2018  //  February – March 2018 (Sausalito location)

I’ve stayed at Quest House three times, once for my phalloplasty and twice again for glansplasty and repairs. I honestly don’t know how I would have managed all of this without this incredible space. The actual physical space is thoughtfully planned for the best recovery experience. Everything is within reach, and what you can’t reach can be reached with the extended graspers in each room. The view of the Oakland Bridge, the massive populations of hummingbirds and the surrounding trails and fresh air will heal your soul. There are intangible benefits to this space, too. The sense of humor, community, compassion and care are worth four times as much as the going rate of rental. I’ve made friends for life here, and it feels like Quest House is as much a part of my transition as anything else has been.

~J.S.


November 2018 (Sausalito location)

I came to stay at Quest House for my second stage in my phalloplasty journey. I was a little bit anxious about being alone in another country and undergoing surgery without the support of family members, so I thought that Quest House would be the best fit for my needs since I would be staying with others. I am so happy that I made the decision to stay here! I really can’t recommend this space enough to those of you who are looking for accommodations in the San Francisco area. Surgery is never a fun experience, but I had such a positive time here full of support, understanding, and lots of laughs. I can say without a doubt that you will feel comfortable here, and you will make new friendships with people who truly understand the hardships of this process. Then there is Meiko… Meiko is one of the best people I have ever had the pleasure to meet! He is an amazing host and care-taker, and he is able to answer all of your questions about the phalloplasty process. He really is the “Yoda” of phalloplasty.

~S.W.


June 2018  //  June 2019 (Sausalito location)

As a single deaf transguy from the East Coast, I had to make the final decision as to which NYC or SF location I choose for my RFF surgery. The biggest factors were the location to stay and recover; and also, the need of a caretaker. Courtney from Mozaic Care truly saved me by providing information about Quest House. After reviewing Quest House, I immediately contacted Meiko for making the room reservation. That gave me a complete peace of mind for 4+ months before my RFF Surgery in May 2018.

I stayed at Quest House for 4 weeks and then, other last two weeks at a hotel nearby Quest House. My favorite spot in the Quest House was sitting by the window sliding door to watch the beautiful scenery. And also, large birds hovering over Sausalito and hummingbirds passing by Quest House. I watched a lot of movies (via my laptop) and took a lot of afternoon naps. It was definitely a small world meeting the partner of a post-op transguy in the house who knows some sign language!

Meiko’s constant support was awesome. He took care of my grocery list, monitored several medications on schedule and also, provided transportation to all my medical and hand therapy appointments, including an unexpected emergency surgery. He is an expert collecting and making extra medical supplies available.  I learned so much from him about tips and tricks of recovery. Without him, I would never thought of using free wet umbrella bags to protect the forearm/donor site while showering.  Doing little things are important to take care of your body with patience and optimism.  In last two weeks at a hotel, he texted how I was doing on my own.

Walking is an important part of this hard, long recovery especially the 1st stage.  I enjoyed my walks with Meiko: hiking trails behind QH, Tiburon sidewalks, Golden Gate Lookout Trail and a couple of Marin walking paths. On my own, I took some ferry rides and long walks around the city of San Francisco.

As for deaf transguys, I can say that Quest House is deaf-friendly, because Meiko was enthusiastic using sign language to communicate with me. I taught him some sign language (trans-related, medical and everyday words) that he needed to know as the QH owner. He is one of those people who can pick up some signs in short time. We also texted each other for deeper communication even when we were in different rooms. Not only that, he advocated for me whenever he noticed something off in communication between me, interpreters and other healthcare professionals in my appointments, because he knew exactly what’s going on with me during my recovery; and clarified information only if necessary. Also, he was there for me all night (until 2 am I think) while preparing for an emergency surgery to fix an infection. During that night, we did not have interpreters (provided by the hospital) until next morning.  Someone actually asked him to interpret and he advocated that I needed a professional certified interpreter, period. He welcomed a couple of my deaf friends visiting me at Quest House.

Looking back, I feel so fortunate to stay at Quest House and that’s definitely something I cherish. I second those guests here calling Meiko the “Yoda” of Phalloplasty. And, there is no place like Quest House for post-op Luke Skywalkers and their mighty swords.

~Namaste


July 2018  //  July 2019 (Sausalito location)

I chose to stay at Quest House for the support and knowledge of Meiko as well as the community aspect. Both exceeded my expectations. The space is clearly thought out for the needs of those recovering. It has a very comfortable “home” feeling. There are great trails to walk, as well as great views of the ocean. For me, the best part of staying at Quest House was the sense of community. Getting to stay with others who have gone through, or are going through exactly what you are, is a very healing energy. I also really appreciated the fact that Meiko creates a space where whatever experience you need to have you can have in a supportive and non-judgemental way. I am very grateful to have been able to stay there.

~H.L.


August 2017  //  May 2018 (Sausalito location)

I have stayed at Quest House two separate times now for my recoveries. Both times, the care I received was excellent. From the medical supplies, to the caretaking, there truly was no better place to recover. Having people there who can relate and have been through what you are going through, is invaluable. The apartment setting is gorgeous. The bedroom views are amazing, and there is plenty within both walking and driving distance. So if you have someone with you, they won’t be bored. There are hiking trails nearby. The Golden Gate is close as is the city. Quest House had any extra medical supplies available that I needed, and Meiko was kind enough to drive me anywhere I needed to go. He also helped me with bandage and wound changes and meal prep. Having someone there to tell you how things are progressing when you aren’t quite sure, means a lot. Because of the length of time you end up staying out there, recovering it almost becomes like a second home, and a second family. I wouldn’t have made it through my recovery without the excellent caretakers and brothers I had at Quest House. I will be back for any and all future surgeries.

~M.M.

September 2017  //  April 2018  //  July 2018 //  December 2018  //  June – July 2019 (Sausalito location)

I had the pleasure of staying at Quest House in September 2017. To be honest I wasn’t sure how it would be sharing space with people I hadn’t met yet while I was recovering from surgery but this would be my first trip going it alone and decided to book a room. I was a little late and could only book the first week there.

It turned out to be one of my most memorable experiences. I ended up really bonding with the couple that rented the room next to mine. I ended up having complications during surgery and when I got to the ER one of my housemates was there for me. We all gave each other the space we needed but also had times where we had amazing conversations and bonding time. When my week was up I really hated to leave my new family. This was the most peace I’ve experienced in a very stressful 1st year of surgery. I will stay here for all future surgeries and would recommend Quest House to anyone who’s in town for surgery.

~J.M.


September 2017 (Sausalito location)

“Quest House was an amazing place to stay during my recovery. It was clean, accessible, easy to get to, and had everything I needed. It was easy to book the dates I needed and everything was ready when I got there. The house is also very affordable compared to other accommodations in the area. Over the course of my surgeries it has saved me hundreds of dollars. There’s a shopping center just down the street, including a pharmacy, if I needed supplies. The location is close to both SF and Greenbrae, which made getting to CPMC and post-op appointments pretty easy. The neighboring cities are also close, and have good food and nice places to get outside and walk. My partner (and care-giver) appreciated the hiking trails behind the building, as well as the pool and hot tub in the complex. It helped a lot with his self-care during the whole process, which was important to both of us. It was also really nice to be around other trans folks who were going through, or had gone through, bottom surgery as well. Highly recommend it, I would definitely stay there again!”

~ A.



September – October 2017  //  June 2018  //  January 2019  //  May – June 2019 (Sausalito location)

My wife and I felt right at home at Quest House. We were there for several weeks in the fall of 2017. It is such a relief knowing that we have not just a place to stay but a peaceful place to be among friends. We were honestly saddened to leave our little “family”, and are looking forward to returning for stage 2 in June!

~ A.K.


December 2017 (Sausalito location)

Staying at Quest House was amazingly peaceful and restorative. I could not have asked for a better location, room, or people to stay with. I was able to reduce the number of things I needed to get before surgery because they had so many medical supplies on hand. Everyone is incredibly knowledgeable about the array of procedures and fielded questions and gave advice that really helped me through my healing processes. Looking back I would not have chosen to stay anywhere else after having surgery and I feel so lucky and grateful that there was space at Quest House for me to stay. 10/10 experience with the folks at Quest House. I highly recommend it.

~ E.

Guest Photo E
Guest Photo

February 2018 (Sausalito location)

Hello! My name is Don. I was blessed to be referred to the Quest House for lodging upon discharge on February 17th, 2018, from the hospital after my surgery on the 12th. The location is beyond what was stated! The view, the quiet, the impeccable taste in furnishing is WONDERFUL! Then comes the compassionate, knowledgeable, care from Meiko, the care provider. I am not one to be very trusting of new acquaintances, but I immediately trusted this amazing young man. He knew what to do to make me feel comfortable, and very well cared for. The room was immaculate and comfortable. A million times better than a hotel or motel room, with much better room service! And I’m serious. The surgery, and Hospital stay, can take a lot out of a person even when everything goes well as in my case, but it was very important for me to be in a place that is comfortable, clean, and well-placed (as in with a view of the Bay from a beautiful balcony!). I highly recommend using this resource after surgery, because it is a wonderful boost and assist in the emotional and physical healing process. Just having someone to share my joy at finally being whole, was far more than I expected, or even knew that I needed. Thank you Quest House, and thank you Meiko.

~ Don

January – February 2018 (Sausalito location)
When I began preparing myself for surgery, I envisioned the first month of recovery to be one of the most difficult experiences in my life. It is true, surgery is very challenging. However, what I learned is that being in a comfortable, beautiful and supportive space can transform the experience from one of mere pain to a beautiful, but very challenging personal journey.
My experience staying at Quest House is one of the primary reasons for this transformation. Everything in the house was prepared for my comfort. My partner & I arrived a few days before the surgery. We got to enjoy the beautiful nature around the area, relax in the hot tub, visit the beach and charge up for the long journey ahead — Something I’d recommend to everyone who is able.
Lodging: Our master bedroom proved a true sanctuary. I was surrounded with all the supplies I needed. In sleepless nights, I’d wake up at 5 am to watch the sunrise over the bay right from my bed — an amazing view that can only be described by watching it firsthand. I saved what is probably close to $500 in total with supplies and comfort items. When I needed something, I was happy to buy it because it was going to be used later on by others in the community. My partner used the hot tub and the gym daily to destress and recharge. I watched her replenish her energy daily in the sun out on the balcony.  She valued the views , and the comfort of the living room as she works hard to meet the heavy demands of being a caretaker. The kitchen provided all the amenenties we needed to have healthy & balanced meals. In the evening, I’d retreat to the living room to enjoy other people’s company, watch TV and relax on the recliner.
Location: The location of Quest House is truly incredible. It is less than 30 minutes away from the hospital and located in one of the most charming towns in the bay. As soon as I got on my feet, I’d enjoy the memorable walks in the sun admiring the Golden Gate bridge, the green trees, and the fresh air. On days when I couldn’t go out, I would still get much of that right from my bedroom’s window. One cannot understand the soul’s need for nature and fresh air while recovering. My daily walks prolonged my patience, gave me a feeling of freedom despite my tired body, and brought me closer to normalcy day-after-day.
Support: I left the most important part of my experience to the end. You see, I might have been able to find a place like Quest House on Airbnb (although it would have cost much more.) What’s unique about Quest House is the foundation and mission of the space itself. The experience was fundamentally affirmative of my surgical experience. Meeting other people who have already gone through this journey is incredibly empowering. Meiko’s presence and encouragement on a daily basis made us feel like we have a loving family member rooting for us. Sharing his own experience helped make the path feel less scary and more manageable.
 My partner & I decided to utilize Meiko’s services packages. She was working day & night to take care of my every little need. She is, however, a human being of her own needs, and a graduate student. We decided that we’d not get a car, and instead, we utilized hourly packages that allowed my partner to rest or focus on her work for a bit every day. Meiko provided support & transportation to all my appointments. I couldn’t describe how much of a difference this decision made to my partner and I. She got some of her sanity back, I felt like a better partner, and Meiko’s constant support made recovery a lot more manageable for me. He listened carefully to all my doctor’s notes, and at times, when I am tired and worn, was there to remind me of what I missed. He would provide his care assistance for an hour or two throughout the day, and when I am feeling well, he’d use the time to get me outside to walk. I credit our daily walk for much of the positive energy that helped me recover.
After 30 days, I left the house feeling as if I left home. The financial burden of lodging far away from home felt like a privilege. Knowing that my money contributed to supporting a space & services that will hopefully support others in the community through their journey — That in itself is a gift. I hope that every member of the community feels as loved, supported and comfortable as I did throughout my journey.
~ S.

March – May 2018 (Sausalito location)
Quest house is a magical place. I’ve stayed there on and off for about three months (my stay was extended due to complications), so I’ve shared the space with quite a few guys at various stages of their phallo journeys. Each person that passes through its doors feels how special it is. The space is like a little family where everyone gets really close, really fast, because you’re experiencing one of the most meaningful and intense times of your lives together, and probably’ve seen each other in your underwear (aka, “the house of no shame”). I still keep in touch with many of the guys who have passed through there. We check in one each other and share penis jokes that no one else would get. Going through phalloplasty is one of the most exciting, scary, and beautiful things I’ve ever done, and having a space and people that understand it, allowed me to process such a drastic transformation. And all of this is made possible by the caretaker of the space, Meiko. Meiko is like the Yoda of phalloplasty. He knows eeeeeeeverything. He’s one of the most present, aware and knowledgeable guys I known, and absolutely the person you want with you as you heal, both physically and emotionally. Quest house was an eye-opening experience that I’ll always feel connected to. I wish I never had to leave.
~ M.

Direct Referrals: If you’re interested in booking and would prefer to directly contact one of our previous guests, please contact us for a referral.